Summer Reading Reviews… July 2017


One of the things I enjoy doing is reading and it is always a pleasure to be asked to review the works of my peers. I just finished two rather good books and I thought I would share my thoughts on them with you here. If you are looking for something a bit different these authors have just that!

Nonsense Creatures  by Brian C. Alexander

BrianCAlexanderbookcover

This author is one I stumbled onto while watching YouTube videos. This is his first book and I found it to be really enjoyable. It is a mix of poetry and short stories that are dark and some are a bit gory. They work well in this compilation and flow together painting a picture of the author and his interests. These poems and shorts have the feeling of Edgar Allen Poe if he had lived in this current age. Haunting and thought-provoking they weave together into a delightful read. I would definitely recommend this book especially to those who enjoy the horror genre. The well set dark tone of the book gives voice to raw emotion and the horrors of the human condition which shocks the reader in a few places.

The second book I will be reviewing today is one by Sarah Angleton Launching Sheep & Other Stories from the Intersection of History & Nonsense

SarahAngletonBookCover

I have become acquainted with this author through our mutual involvement in a group on Facebook. This book is a collection of the author’s blog posts which display a unique view of her life with historical information weaved into each short story. This book boasts colorful titles, history tidbits which are stretched at times for humor, and everyday life. One of my personal favorites was the blog post titled “Pickled History Scraped from the Bottom of the Barrel” which was written September 24th 2015 and tells us the disturbing story of “tapping the admiral” which I was relieved to learn was in fact just a work of fiction of epic grossness. With the various posts comes room for everyone to find something that delights them. If you love history and are looking for a light read that has much to offer in the way of  subject matter, this is the book I would recommend for you. I could see this as a wonderful book to take on vacation for those quiet moments when you need something relaxing and fun to read. It’s unique, silly, and witty, in short, I highly recommend this book!

Those are the two books I have just finished up reading for this month. I’m always looking for something new to read. If you have a book you think I will enjoy feel free to contact me via my website. Also, I would be delighted if you would read my books and give them a review. As an author your opinions as my readers matter to me! Tell me what you think about my books and if you read one of these books I have reviewed let me know how you felt about them too. Let’s talk!

Author Deedra Mosley

Comments are closed.

Up ↑

